Call for Papers


  • Theme: Technology Entrepreneurship & Society
  • Location: Buerk Center for Entrepreneurship at University of Washington
  • Dates: September 14th & 15th, 2023
  • Deadline for Paper Submissions: May 29th, 2023 at midnight
  • Application Link: Available now, click “here“.

We invite authors to submit papers to our research symposium, a lively forum for the exchange of ideas among scholars interested in technology entrepreneurship. The 2023 conference will be held at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Papers focusing on entrepreneurship and innovation in technology-based settings will be given preference. In addition to our broad focus on technology entrepreneurship, for 2023 we especially encourage submissions from authors examining contemporary dynamics related to artificial intelligence, algorithms, and machine learning. We are open to a wide variety of perspectives on these topics, and how entrepreneurship relates to both the sources and consequences of these new technologies.

We expect to host an intimate conference of 50+ leading scholars from around the world. The conference steering committee invites the submission of unpublished working papers that advance the state of knowledge on technology entrepreneurship

We hope to see you at the University of Washington in September!

The WCRS website is now accepting applications, and the deadline for submitting papers is May 29th, 2023 at midnight. 


  • Suresh Kotha and Emily Cox Pahnke, University of Washington
  • Kathy Eisenhardt and Riitta Katila, Stanford University
  • Michael Lounsbury and Dev Jennings, University of Alberta
  • Alan Meyer and Andrew Nelson, University of Oregon
  • Nandini Rajagopalan and Violina Rindova, University of Southern California


  • Buerk Center for Entrepreneurship, University of Washington
  • Stanford Technology Ventures Program, Stanford University
  • Charles H. Lundquist Center for Entrepreneurship, University of Oregon
  • Lloyd Greif Center for Entrepreneurial Studies, University of Southern California
  • Technology Commercialization Centre at the Alberta School of Business, University of Alberta