Doctoral Consortium

Alberta School of Business, University of Alberta
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
(prior to the WCRS on August 31 – September 1, 2017)

Doctoral students are invited to submit applications to attend this one-day workshop prior to the 15th West Coast Research Symposium on Technology Entrepreneurship.

The application for the 2017 Doctoral Consortium has closed.

About the Doctoral Student Workshop

The Doctoral Workshop, sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, focuses on technology entrepreneurship with an emphasis on contemporary work in the field. It offers an intellectually stimulating experience, maps the theoretical domain of technology entrepreneurship, and builds community. Workshop participants will have opportunities to present their own research interests, to interact with each other, and to get acquainted with faculty members. This is a great opportunity for doctoral students to learn from leading scholars and contemporary work in the field. Applicants focusing on the nexus of technology, innovation, and entrepreneurship will be given preference.

Doctoral Student Workshop Tracks

The doctoral student workshop offers two separate tracks. (The two tracks will join together for selected workshop sessions/panels and for all meals.)

Track 1 is designed for doctoral students who have not yet defended a dissertation proposal and who may still be in the process of selecting a dissertation topic. This track will devote attention to the selection of a dissertation topic, research design, and sources of data.

Track 2 is intended for students who have defended dissertation proposals (or who are close to doing so). This track will devote attention to completing the dissertation, publishing the dissertation, and early career considerations.

Meals and Lodging, and Travel Stipend

Each student selected to attend the Doctoral Workshop will be provided with all meals and three nights accommodation (double occupancy). Each student selected to attend the Doctoral Workshop may receive up to $200 in reimbursement for travel expenses.

Faculty mentors

From the hosting institution:

  • Joel Gehman (University of Alberta)
  • Vern Glaser (University of Alberta)
  • Tim Hannigan (University of Alberta)
  • C.R. Bob Hinings (University of Alberta)
  • Michael Lounsbury (University of Alberta)
  • Dev Jennings (University of Alberta)
  • Madeline Toubiana (University of Alberta)

From the sponsoring institutions:

  • Warren Boeker (University of Washington)
  • Robert Eberhart (Santa Clara University)
  • Chuck Eesley (Stanford University)
  • Ralph Heidl (University of Oregon)
  • Shon Hiatt (University of Southern California)
  • Manuela Hoehn-Weiss (Oregon State University)
  • Suresh Kotha (University of Washington)
  • Alan Meyer (University of Oregon)
  • Dan Olson (University of Washington)
  • Violina Rindova ((]University of Southern California)
  • Andrew Nelson (University of Oregon)
  • Marc-David Seidel (University of British Columbia)
  • David Tan (University of Washington)

West Coast Research Symposium

All students chosen for the workshop will be invited to attend the two-day West Coast Research Symposium on August 31 – September 1. This annual symposium showcases cutting-edge work by technology entrepreneurship researchers from the West Coast and around the world.

The 2017 WCRS and Doctoral Workshop is being hosted by the Alberta School of Business, at the University of Alberta in Canada.